Scarlet Fever

Posted on February 20, 2012 by

4


Over a year ago and very early on in my derby journey, I wrote a piece on why I love roller derby. One of the reasons I gave was that it’s adult only. A junior roller derby player from Nashville in the US quickly put me in my place. Intrigued, I contacted her and she told me a bit about herself.

Scarlet Fever

I play for the Nashville Junior Roller Derby.

20120220-124931.jpg

I’ve been in derby for 1 year and five months but am currently on a break so that I can concentrate on my crazy amount of schoolwork. I’ve always loved roller derby so when I heard there was going to be a junior league in my city I couldn’t resist joining :)

It’s just about as rough as adult derby, but with smaller people! :D

20120220-124922.jpg

I really love feeling so independent yet still so in sync with my team. My derby idol is Rambo Sambo. She always comes and talks to our team and she’s always given great advice. She’s a great leader and team player. She also seems just generally kind-hearted yet tough at the same time. I’d love to be like her when I get to the big girl derby :D

Photos provided by Scarlet

Posted in: LimboLand