Buffy, Roller Derby and Vegas, Baby!

Posted on December 23, 2010 by

6


I’m a mad Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan. When Buffy used to be on TV I would stay up late every Tuesday night to watch it and be teased by my classmates in Wednesday morning’s double Japanese for being so tired for such a “lame” reason. Long after the series ended a group of us would get together for Buff-a-thons and watch Buffy for 12 hours straight.

I used to have dreams I was Buffy. The dreams weren’t as cool as you might think, though. They were mostly anxious dreams, knowing that I was the chosen one and, therefore, never safe from evil’s attack. I usually woke up quite relieved to not actually be a vampire slayer.

If I had to choose a character from Buffy who I was most like, it would have to be Willow. I mean, let’s break this down:

  • We’re both freckle faces with red hair (actually, I think I have a vague recollection of my natural colour being brown!).
  • We both have issues getting out complete sentences in conversations, or at least getting the words in the right order. A typical Willow example is: “The reflection thing that you don’t have… Angel, how do you shave?”. Mine are usually less cute and just involve the end of my sentences fading off.
  • We’re both useless when it comes to boys. Willow once said “When I’m with a boy I like, it’s hard for me to say anything cool, or witty, or at all. I can usually make a few vowel sounds – then I have to go away”. This happens to me all the time. I used to like this guy at work. Once I was in the work kitchen with a workmate and he came in. I just stood there like a moron; didn’t even say hi to him. She admonished me so next time we were in there and he came in I decided to talk to him. To this day, I have no idea what I said. I’m not sure there were any complete sentences but I think I raved about the microwave and town planning and pandas or something. My mate just looked at me afterwards and was like, “what were you on about??”
  • We’re both proud nerds “I’m not ashamed. It’s the computer age. Nerds are in.”

Willow Rosenberg

Similar?

My nerdiness came out in full force this week researching RollerCon 2011. RollerCon is a roller derby convention held once a year in Las Vegas, USA. I spent hours reading the complete official site. Then I spent many more reading reviews of past RollerCons, hunting down people’s blogs on them, emailing the official organisers with questions and commenting on other people’s blogs trying to suss out if it’s worth the money to fly over to Vegas in July 2011 and take part.

RollerCon is the full experience. The part I’m most interested in is the workshops that are run by some of the top players/coaches in the world. Some past RollerCon attendees have criticised the large size of workshops (up to 75 people). For me, though, this may seem fine, seeing that I’ve only done fresh meat and there were about 100 of us.

Apart from the workshops there are heaps of scrimmages to join in (mini bouts). Attendees make up their own teams – last year there was a scrimmage between the Aussies (team name: Mortal Wombat) and the Americans. They accommodate all levels too, you just let people know you’re a beginner and they take it (kinda) easy on you.

There will also be so much cool merchandise there and opportunities to try out a huge range of products that probably aren’t even available in Australia.

Apart from derby skills and products, there’s so much to take part in socially, including:

  • Scavenger hunt
  • Skate park tour
  • Black and Blue Ball
  • Derby wedding ceremony
  • Pool party
  • Karaoke

 

My research was epic and might be useful to other people interested in attending RollerCon so I’ve included some of the links I found helpful below.

Willow blossomed from someone who said things like “I don’t want to be our only hope. I crumble under pressure. Let’s have another hope” into an uber-cool, magical lesbian. Maybe going to RollerCon would speed up my transformation into an uber-cool, kick-arse derby girl!

Links:

This summary, with photos, is hilarious

Here’s one chick’s blog of her experiences at RollerCon ’08

This one has great photos. Check out the photo of the bruise on day 5!

A Canberran’s account of RollerCon 2010 (including criticisms)

This one mentions Aussies (woot) and also crowded classes (boo)

Posted in: RollerCon