Roller Derby iPhone 4 Apps

Posted on October 14, 2011 by

1


This week I got an iPhone4. Of course, the first thing I did was look up roller derby apps.

I found four of interest. The first is a game called Roller Derby. I decided not to get this one based on Raven Von Kaos’ review, which concluded with “If I had paid for this app, I would be writing someone stern letters to get my bucks back!”.

Two apps are marketed at refs and NSOs (non-skating officials). They are the JamTimer and the PenaltyTimer. Seeing as I’m the one in the jams (and hopefully not too many penalties) I don’t really need an app to help me time these.

So that left just one for me to try out: the WFTDA (women’s flat track derby association – referred to lovingly as wooftda) rules. After my little toe-to-toe with the refs after last Friday’s scrimmage I thought even more rules knowledge could only be a good thing. Stay tuned for the review.

Does anyone know of any other derby-related iPhone apps?

Posted in: LimboLand