Posted on February 16, 2012 by

1


Roller Derby AU

Before I tried out for fresh meat I took some skating lessons. I took lessons from whoever would teach me. As a result, I spent my Saturday mornings decked out in full derby gear surrounded by lots of kids in figure skates learning to do pretty things like three turns and waltz jumps (check out my attempt at a flip jump). I also spent my Wednesday evenings surrounded by men in unnervingly tight lycra trying to keep up with their speed skating.

I absolutely benefited from this cross training and picked up valuable techniques from their disciplines that I could apply to roller derby. I also felt uncomfortable. At the figure skating classes, parents gave me wary side glances, suspicious that I was going to suddenly tackle their children. The speed skaters were super welcoming but I felt bad for being so slow.

What I really wanted was a…

View original post 134 more words

Posted in: LimboLand