I may just be a superhero

Posted on April 30, 2012 by

10


For a moment on the weekend I thought I was like Bruce Willis in Unbreakable. I was reaching in the oven to pull out a tray of sundried tomato and polenta infused bread rolls when my hand touched the oven tray above. I yanked it away and watched the angry red line appear. But felt no pain.

20120430-113407.jpg

After I discounted the possibility that I am a superhero I recalled an episode of Making Australia Happy in which they said that optimistic people have higher pain tolerances. In Making Australia Happy, they collected a bunch of miserable Australians and put them through a happiness course. I loved watching the show. One of the exercises the participants did early on was to hold a hand in ice water for as long as possible. Then, at the end of the series (when they were more optimistic) they repeated the exercise. They all lasted much longer the second time around.

This could be important for derby too. An optimistic skater is less likely to register pain when hit and therefore stay on her game. It’s clear that derby is a hugely mental game (as are many sports) but until now I’ve been more focussed on the obvious stuff – like overcoming fear. From this point, I’d like to start looking more at conditioning my mind.

What experience do you have in this area? Any hints and tips for me?

Posted in: LimboLand