How to set derby goals

Posted on June 22, 2012 by

4


Most of us understand the basics of setting goals. Sometimes understanding in theory and applying in practice are two separate things.

I’m going to talk you through my interpretation of S.M.A.R.T goals, provide some examples of what to avoid and point you in the right direction.

Let’s get right to it.

S.M.A.R.T Avoid Instead try
S is for specific I want to be a better jammer I will practice jumping suddenly from “lane 4” to “lane 3” at least three times each training session
    I will do three minutes of speed laps at least once a week
  I want to be a better positional blocker I will use a half snow plough three times each scrimmage
    I will yell “brace me” whenever I have a jammer held on the inside line
M is for measurable I want to communicate more on the track (what is “more”?) Every time I go on the track as a blocker I will communicate where the jammer is at least once to my fellow blockers
  I want to be a better league member I will attend 80% of my committee’s meetings
A is for accountable – let’s save this one for last    
R is for realistic – get someone else to look over your goals for the “common sense” test I will train on skates five times and off skates five times a week  
  Words like “every”, “always”, “never” and “100%” are red flags – carefully assess any goals with these kinds of words  
T is for time-bound – let’s modify the examples so far   I will practice jumping suddenly from “lane 4” to “lane 3” at least three times each training session for six weeks
    I will do three minutes of speed laps at least once a week for three months
    I will use a half snow plough three times each scrimmage this season
    I will yell “brace me” whenever I have a jammer held on the inside line for the next three scrimmage nights
    Every time I go on the track as a blocker this month, I will communicate where the jammer is at least once to my fellow blockers
    I will attend 80% of my committee’s meetings this year

Back to accountability, there are varying levels. Self-accountability might include writing your goals down and sticking them on the back of the toilet door. Better yet, tell a friend. Knowing someone is expecting you to achieve can provide extra motivation. Maybe she’ll even join in. Or, tell someone you don’t know: set up a blog or (if that’s too much hassle) share your goals in comments section below.

Posted in: LimboLand