Is derby going to take a dive?

Posted on August 9, 2012 by

10


So, apparently we’re doing away with minor penalties in derby.

Let’s talk about this in practice. Say I’m a blocker and a jammer comes up behind me and hits me in the back. I’m pushed forward a little but don’t fall down. It’s all good, she gets a minor penalty and I stay in play to keep blocking her. Say she started the jam with two existing minors. I just need to get her to do one more naughty thing and she gets sent to the sin bin.

Now, let’s say there are no minor penalties and the same thing happens – I’m a blocker and a jammer comes up behind me and hits me in the back. I’m pushed forward a little but don’t fall down. This time, she gets an advantage as I’m momentarily put off and I get nothing. Oh, the injustice! As if I’m not going to exaggerate the impact and “fall” forward. At least that way she gets sent to the box.

Roller derby could go the way of soccer, with players exaggerating impact left, right and centre in an effort to keep jammers accountable for the naughty things they do.

Logically, we can draw two conclusions:
1. roller derby should keep its minor penalties
2. soccer should implement a minor penalty system

Without minors, the future of derby (skip forward to the 30 second mark):

Posted in: LimboLand