Wanted: Mentees

Posted on November 19, 2012 by

11


I have selfish reasons for wanting to be a mentor. For one, I like to feed off of others’ enthusiasm. If you know me, you may have noticed that I’m often very passionate about things. Maintaining that passion around people who are apathetic can be quite draining so it’s nice to be able to feed off others’ energy every now and again. That’s one of the reasons I love my learn-to-skate class.

Secondly, helping others with technical ability improves my own ability levels. Preparing a session on can openers made me break down the manoeuvre myself and get really clear on it. By teaching others, I helped teach myself.

Thirdly, mentees give me at least as much emotional support as I can provide them (probably more given my melodramatic tendencies).

For these reasons (and as a matter of pride) I was somewhat miffed when none of my four mentees rocked up to our mentoring session on Saturday. Luckily, Hermione Gouge-her had crashed the session. We did some endurance work but mostly just skated around chatting – discussing our goals for derby in general and RollerCon Down Under specifically.

20121119-140223.jpg

Gouge-her and I demonstrating the complete lack of any other humans

Anyone have any advice for becoming a kick-arse mentor? Or any stories about a mentor you’ve experienced who really touched your life? I’d love to hear your stories and advice.

Posted in: LimboLand