LCD vs Ballarat

Posted on October 11, 2013 by

1


Last weekend, I played with the LCD travel team against Ballarat. We got schooled and it was awesome. This was LCD’s first game against an interstate team. Ballarat really were a class above. Their jammers were great but it was the blockers that really caught my eye and inspired me. The level of strategy was amazing. As a former jammer, I like the fact that I can accelerate quickly out the front of the pack to chase a jammer down. What I’m not accustomed to is savvy opposing blockers anticipating my move and promptly neutralising me. Over and over again I’d be like “oo, shiny jammer – I’m going to go hit it” and then thump, an opposing blocker would either knock me down or get in my way for that crucial second that I would’ve needed to get going.

Ballarat blockers (in brown)

Ballarat blockers (in brown)

Look how together they are

Look how together they are

The final score was 84 to 302 against us but I gained way more from the game than I would’ve if we’d rocked up and cleaned them up. Now I have some new goals around reading the pack and anticipating what the opposition will do next.

Not that we were completely outclassed - great blocking here by LCD

Not that we were completely outclassed – great blocking here by LCD

Thank you to Andrew Hodgson for taking these pictures at the game!

Posted in: LimboLand