How Motherhood Is Like Roller Derby

Posted on September 18, 2015 by

0


This thirteen minute video will appeal to people who are interested in both derby and motherhood. It’s by Axles of Evil, who has a long history of involvement in roller derby and media. She consulted on Whip It and has written a book called Down and Derby: An insider’s guide to roller derby.

It was a bit of a slow start for me (I didn’t really need the explanation of what roller derby is that takes up the first minute or the in-depth description of the hardships of having a newborn as I can’t relate) but I liked the comparisons from the seven minute mark onwards.

On a broader scale, I love when women take all the skills they didn’t even realise they fostered through derby and apply them to a completely different realm of their life.

Posted in: LimboLand